#42 brown bag my lunch and walk to work 3 x week

There goes the luxury of sleeping in!

Okay, I admit it. I did craft a few things on my list that would dovetail into other goals. Like this one with #65 “lose 20 to 30 pounds.” I also thought this would be a good way to save money that I can dump into my savings account in order to scratch #44 off my list.

Gotta think smart and efficient!

Here’s what I’ve done so far to execute #42 —

I went to Mountain Equipment Co-op and bought this:

Except my backpack is all black. My walk to the office is about an hour from where I live. I basically have to hoof from the furthest western end of Queen St. W. all the way to the downtown, so I needed something sturdy to carry my macbook, headphones, lunch, wallet, change of shoes, make-up, etc. I was sure to purchase the backpack that had a sturdy mesh liner which separates the pack compartment from my body to keep the air circulating. Arriving at work looking disheveled with a sweaty back is NOT my idea of cool.

I figure if I walk to work three times a week, within two weeks the backpack will have paid for itself.

My other task this weekend will be to grocery shop for food to pack in my lunch. I’m on a protein-veg diet right now (that’s it. No bread, starch, sugar, fruit, alcohol, etc.), so the shopping should be pretty simple.

As with everything in life, it all comes down to execution. Can I actually peel myself out of bed an hour earlier to walk to work? AND make my lunch the night before so it’s ready to go??

-e

Leave a comment

Filed under 101 in 1001 days, finances

Leave a Reply

