if you can’t eat ’em, send ’em

Isn’t that how the saying goes… ??

I sent a half dozen of these to my agent’s assistant for her birthday today. She puts up with a lot of goofiness from me. Not bitchiness, just my pathological aversion to signing and returning contracts on time. There probably aren’t enough cupcakes in the world to send her as thanks for that, but I’m hoping these are a start.

Cupcakes from Yummy Cupcakes in Burbank, CA

Cupcakes from Yummy Cupcakes in Burbank, CA

The menu they have at Yummy Cupcakes is off the charts. They make, honestly, every flavor under the sun. Hard choices all around, but I finally settled on Strawberry Shortcake, Mint Chocolate Chip, Peach Cobbler and some classics: Vanilla with vanilla buttercream, Chocolate with vanilla buttercream and Chocolate with chocolate buttercream.

In my next life, I want to come back as someone who can eat one of these every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner and not gain an ounce.

yummycupcakes.com

yummycupcakes.com

What impresses me most about this Yummy Cupcake place is that they clearly know what they’re doing with frosting. Look at that cupcake, just look at it! Now that’s the kind of frosting to cake ratio I’m talking about when I’m looking to spend three bucks on a cupcake. I hate those crappy “Look ma, I just jumped on the bandwagon” cupcake shoppes (’cause they always spell them like that. Please). And they are always owned by some skinny bitch who cheaps out on the frosting and thinks it’s okay to charge an indecent amount of money for cupcakes that don’t even have frosting that covers the top of the damn (made from a mix!) cupcake!  It’s a cupcake, it’s not rocket science. Cover the whole top of the damn cupcake with frosting!!!! Sugar is cheap, my loyalty is not.

Oh, don’t worry, I’ll post photos of those offensive cupcakes and shoppes.

But in the meantime, let me leave you with something good and mouthwatering. Here’s the money shot.

Mmmmmm.... buttercream frosting

Mmmmmm.... buttercream frosting

I know, doesn’t it make you weep with longing? I could eat a vat of that right now. NO kidding. A vat.

And I would die a happy, happy woman.

-e

2 Comments

Filed under other news

2 responses to “if you can’t eat ’em, send ’em

  1. Uh, yeah… follow my lead: marry a classically trained pastry chef… gain 15 pounds.

    XO, Katie

  2. Dudette! I think there’s a cupcake you should see. It’s over at my spouse’s blog: http://vampiregran.wordpress.com

    She brought me a piece of peanut butter and jelly cake that she made on Saturday (peanut butter – butter cream frosting!) Heaven.

    XO,
    Katie

Leave a Reply

