#74 make a toast or speech in public

DONE!

One of my best friends was married yesterday and I was her Maid of Honor. As such, she asked me to make a toast during the reception.

I won’t share the nitty gritty, but let’s just say I spazed out over this big time. I fretted and worried about what to say and hitting the right note. I did not want to be that guest, the one we’ve all seen in action who delivers a cringe-inducing speech that leaves the bride and groom mortified and the other guests shifting uncomfortably in their seats.

Maybe it’s because I’m such a worrier when it comes to these things that I try to over-prepare (actually, I still under-prepared for this one, leaving it until Friday to turn my mind to it. Work’s been extremely busy, so… ). I try to do everything that is going to make my darkest moment of anxiety easier, and speaking to a crowd of one hundred plus people is definitely an anxiety-induer for me. Add to that, that many of the guests work in my industry so I’m gonna see them again and some of them I’ll be hitting up for jobs, and generally want to show myself well to them.

Anyway, my worry translated into a pretty damn and flawless speech from all accounts (seriously, several guests came up to me and said so, it’s not a case of my trumpeting my own horn). I hid my nerves behind a sentimental joke off the top, lead into words about the couple that lead into my finish with a quote from Marianne Williamson, “Love is giving without remembering and receiving without forgetting.”

So onwards and upwards to the next challenge on my list!

(Which might be a new number altogether involving getting my money back for the trip to Thailand I book last monday before angry protesters locked down Bangkok’s international airport. Sigh.)

-e

Leave a comment

Filed under 101 in 1001 days, stretching out of my comfort zone

Leave a Reply

