#25. make a quilt for my dad

I finished this quilt just in time for Christmas and gave it to my father when we got together for the holiday.  The colors are a little on the feminine side, but they actually work with the color scheme in my dad’s home.

Dad's quilt

Dad's quilt (photo taken at my mom's place)

And here it is up closer:

close up of dad's quilt And the back:

back to dad's quilt (amy butler midwest mod fabric)

back of dad's quilt (Amy Butler midwest mod fabric)

Close up of the backing:

Amy Butler's Midwestern Modern fabric

Amy Butler's Midwestern Modern fabric

Why was this on my 101 in 1001 Days List?

Easy.  My dad is awesome.  He’s so supportive of anything that I want to do, and always has been.  You know that song, “The Wind Beneath My Wings”?  That’s my dad.  He has always supported my aims and goals in life,  even when he thought I was making a mistake but it was something I needed to do (ahem, a certain failed relationship).  Were it not for my father, I wouldn’t have been able to carve out the career I have.  He’s not only a good parent, he’s a very good friend too.

So when he and my mom, who have been divorced for over thirty-years, got together to buy me the Pfaf Classic Quilt sewing machine (mom’s idea) because I fell in love with quilting, it was a no-brainer that I needed to make him a quilt to show my appreciation.

I’m certain this is just one of several quilts I’ll make for my Dad as my quilting skills improve (I need to learn how to machine quilt/stipple.  Right now I use the in-the-ditch method and straight lines/diagonals).   I’d like to tackle something more masculine for him, as well.  Like a nice log cabin in plaids.

-e

Leave a comment

Filed under 101 in 1001 days, crafts, doing for others, quilting

Leave a Reply

